Brown Attention-Deficit Disorder Scales

(Brown ADD Scales)


Age Group

3 - 12 Years

12 -18 Years

Assessment Duration

1 Hour





The Brown ADD Scales help to assess a wide range of symptoms of executive function impairments associated with ADHD/ADD. These normed rating scales are available to elicit parent report and teacher report for children aged 3 to 7 yrs and 8 to 12 yrs. For 8 to 12 year olds, a normed self-report version is also available.


The Brown ADD Scales for Adolescents and Adults include 40 items that assess five clusters of ADHD-related executive function impairments. Versions for children ages 3 to 12 yrs also include a sixth cluster to assess problems in monitoring and self-regulating action.


  • Organizing, Prioritizing and     Activating to Work
  • Focusing, Sustaining and     Shifting Attention to Tasks
  • Regulating Alertness,     Sustaining Effort and Processing Speed
  • Managing Frustration and     Modulating Emotions
  • Utilizing Working Memory and     Accessing Recall
  • Monitoring and     Self-Regulating Action